CEDARS Short Stay School


ICT Key Stage 3

In the ICT Department at Key Stage 3 we try to give students a broad and varied understanding of many aspects of ICT.  This does not just involve using the computers (hands on the keyboard and mouse) but also understanding many of the reasons how and why things work (inside the computer case).  To this end students learn how to use various types of software, making decisions about the suitability of each package.  In addition they discover how the hardware actually works.

The curriculum is constantly changing and adapting to meet the individual needs and interests of the students.  Areas currently studied include:

  • Uses for Office Programs
    • Word Processing
    • Desktop Publishing
    • Presentations
    • Spreadsheets
    • Databases
  • Understanding Computer Systems
    • The history of ICT
    • Different digital devices
    • Hardware and Software
    • Networks
    • What’s in the Box?
  • Programming
    • Creating instructions for computers
    • Sensors and switches
    • Control
  • Creative software
    • Graphic manipulation
    • Animation
    • Sound editing
    • Video editing

ICT Key Stage 4

Building on the knowledge gained in Key Stage 3, we take the ICT learning at Key Stage 4 a stage further.  Through years 10 and 11 students study a range of units designed to develop a higher level of understanding and skill.

The curriculum currently followed is the Cambridge Nationals Certificate in ICT.  By completing 4 separate units in this course students can achieve the equivalent of a full GCSE in ICT.

There are two compulsory units.  The first unit “Understanding Computer Systems” is knowledge based and culminates in an exam.  The second unit “Using ICT to Create Business Solutions” is coursework based.

The other two units are selected after consideration of the individual skills and interest of the students.  Units that have been studied before include: “Creating Digital Images” and “Exploring Computer Hardware and Networks.”